Washington, DC, 20001
it made its debut in 1918, the upscale Tudor Hall Apartments boasted every upscale amenity – this charming Washington DC historic hotel was a favored home of notable Senators and Congressmen. Showcasing a stately façade of leaded, stained-glass windows and 119 grinning gargoyles- two of the hotel’s exterior gargoyles depict the faces of the architect and his wife- the lodging struck the ideal tone for such distinguished clientele.
Some notable facts about this proud member of Historic Hotels of America include the stained-glass initials “T.H.” for “Tudor Hall”, still visible above the side door of what is now the Wilkes Room. Just outside The Tavern at the Henley Park Hotel restaurant lies the crest of Richard the Lion-Hearted, celebrating the namesake of our award-winning restaurant. The lobby floor is tiled in the original specially designed Mercer tiles of Doylestown, Pennsylvania. Of special note are the four large Gargoyles which appear above the Hotel’s interior atrium restaurant. These were rescued from the old Commodore Hotel in New York City before it was razed.
In 1982, the property was converted into an upscale hotel and carefully restored to its original glory. Great care was taken to retain the original architectural features, recalling the gracious manor homes of England. Traditional archways, moldings and leaded glass windows were key design elements throughout the building. Chippendale, Hepplewhite, and Queen Anne furnishings are set amid chintz wall coverings and window designs.
Formal tea is served in the Wilkes Room each day. The Wilkes Room was used as the parlor where the gentlemen tenants entertained ladies. The room retains the original fireplace and mantle, as well as a striking chandelier.
Guests can escape to a gentler time in accommodations that provide a soothing mix of traditional appointments such as 19-century reproductions and four-poster beds and still enjoy the modern amenities of this 21st century hotel.